WR008124: Ethics—Why You Should Make It Personal
Ethical thinking and decision making rely on our ability to be in touch with how others feel, to have empathy, and to understand how our decisions affect others. We use empathy and emotional intelligence to have a connection with others and “make it personal.” When our thinking gets personal, however, it can cause biases and, ironically, result in overly self-focused thinking, which damages empathy and emotional intelligence. This class will teach thinking strategies to be aware of our empathy levels and balance our emotional connection for better ethical thinking. Major subjects * Using emotional intelligence to enhance ethical decision-making * Identifying biases that damage ethical thought processes * How to balance empathy for better ethical judgment

Event Level: Basic
Who Should Attend: Auditors, investigators, CPAs, analysts, attorneys, law enforcement, and governance and compliance professionals interested in understanding and improving their ethical decision making
Required Knowledge: None
Advanced Preparation: None
Vendor: Cognificent Learning
Speaker: Groves, Toby
Objectives
  • * Identify at least one aspect of emotional intelligence * Identify at least one bias that impacts ethical thought processes * Identify at least one strategy to achieve “Empathic Balance”
Webinar Information
Start Time:
June 28, 2024 11:00 AM Eastern
10:00 AM Central, 9:00 AM Mountain, 8:00 AM Pacific
Add to Calendar:
Estimated Length:
1 hour, 40 minutes
Registration Time Remaining:
15 days, 13 hours
Member Price:
$95.00
Non-Member:
$120.00
Individual topic purchase: Selected
North Carolina Association of Certified Public Accountants
Behavioral Ethics: 2.00
Products
WR008124: Ethics—Why You Should Make It Personal
Member: $95.00
Non-Member: $120.00